One plus one.

dogs

That’s Wolfie with the shaved back. He had some skin issues when he was picked up as  stray, but they are all better now.

We recently went on vacation (that’s the reason for the silence here) and brought home a new rescue dog (Wolfie). Needless to say our old rescue dog (Greta, who we have had for 14 months now) and the new rescue dog need to work things out. Both are approx. 68 pound shepard mixes, very friendly with dogs and people but of course our long time dog is not so happy about sharing.

It’s so intriguing that sharing is a very big issue for animals of all kind, including humans. And of course there is also the issue of change.

I don’t deal well with change. I thought I did (moving for college, changing careers ETC) but as I get older I can see the cracks in the vision I have of myself. My anxiety about change can be near overwhelming these days which I find odd.

Schedule is a big deal to our dog Greta so I am working to maintain our usual schedule and make sure that they both feel welcome. I’ve read quite a bit about this, grew up with lots of animals, and I have received a ton of advice. But it all falls short of the experience doesn’t it? Much like reading so many other ‘how to’ books. Reality is different in each experience.

More than anything it makes me think about how well I deal with change seeing our dogs each deal with change. I am of the age when change becomes obvious and inevitable. Whether it is the illness of family members or the amount of savings you don’t have for retirement. I hope for the best with the dogs and I believe that in time they will work it out and become friends. They are so similar and friendly. As for me, how I deal with having two dogs again after 4 years, that’s something I have to figure out as I go.

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

