Not Quitting

I’ve noticed a lot of posts on writers blogs, Facebook groups and such on the topic of ‘not quitting’.  It seems to be the topic of the moment. I suspect it is because in these fairly dark times persistence itself is a hopeful act and here in North America we are heading into Spring, the season of rebirth.

It’s a fine topic, a good topic and one I talk about in my presentations. But often I think we ignore the scope of what it means.

The issue isn’t resolved with completing one project. Persistence is necessary in whatever creative career you choose day-in-day-out, year-in-year-out. Because honestly there is always something easier to do then create, revise and complete (CRC? Not bad for an acronym…). And we humans, in general, we like the easy way. And working on a manuscript for 3 or  4 years to get it right – to make it sellable, that is persistence – or insanity – and the result of that (a finished manuscript, a completed painting…) is made possible by a thousand small acts of persistence.

What I am clumsily getting at is that persistence is a fractal issue: the persistence you need to complete one sentence, one paragraph, one book and than do it again and again and let it become a career is the real scope of persistence and ‘not quitting’ I’m thinking about.

Taking the next step is a hopeful act. It means you are moving forward towards a goal and are willing to get up each day and start in on it again even when sometimes you feel the exact opposite. A journey of a million small steps seems less heroic, but it is more truthful and resonates with hope.

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Personal Appearance, picture books, writing fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Quitting

  1. I agree with you about the importance of perseverance and persistence. I have always been a very determined and self-motivated person so I have never been someone to quit things impulsively. Instead, I tend to power through challenges and persist until I either find a solution and can move forward or until it becomes clear that something is just not going to work out. That said, however, I just recently quit something but that was an act of self-care really so I think I can justify it. I had persevered for long enough.

    • mfearing says:

      I think it’s equally important to know when to move on, that’s for sure. Some ideas just don’t work and no matter the years spent on them – they don’t work. In these cases moving onto a new project is the best thing. Stay busy, keep creating but don’t throw time into something that won’t work.

  2. johnf says:

    It’s the 99% perspiration part.

  3. Very good point! Thankfully, I am very stubborn, so I tend to persist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

