Literacy!

In the current political reality (as fictional as it may seem) it’s amazing to think some people still care about literacy, but I know a lot of good people at schools who do. And I will be speaking at my first school event for the year this evening. It’s a literacy night at a primary school.

I’ve done a dozen of thee specifics type of events and you never know what to expect. How many people show up, and of course with the weather in Oregon it might rain at 3, snow at 4, hail storm at 5 and who knows what at 6. So people may be hesitant to head out to events.

As some of you know from contacting me I limit school visits to 5 a year. But this year – because of the depressing weather and the current state of political discourse in the country, I was happy to schedule as many as I could. I need to get out more!

This lead to my current predicament where for the next two months, I am busy indeed.

I’m always nervous at the start of the ‘school visit season’. I revise and update my presentations, cutting material that students didn’t respond to the previous year, adding new books and new ideas I have come across and changing up the materials I bring along to share. But when I wake-up the morning of the ‘first’ school event for the year, I feel a lot like I’m 9 years old and it’s the first day of school.

I’m excited to see the students and meet the teachers and talk about books, and visual story telling. Time to create some reality instead of absorbing each days ‘news’.

 

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Blatherings, illustration, Personal Appearance. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Literacy!

  1. Thank you for doing this. I know my kids are always very inspired by author visits to their school. I think promoting literacy – even promoting the idea of education – is going to become increasingly important. Thank you for being a part of that.

    • mfearing says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I get a lot form the events too. Hearing from students about what they are reading, what they like, talking about books and writing and drawing. And I get paid of course, but I found early on if I didn’t ask for a fee I was inundated with requests to a ridiculous degree. Then as I started doing events and talks I realized that it takes days to prepare not to mention driving to and spending the day or evening talking. So all in all I enjoy doing them, but I think my limit of 5 events a year is wise!

Leave a Reply

