I’m going to write a book today.

“I’m going to write a book today.” I said to myself, Then sat down and …

I tried that once. When I was first attempting to break into picture books, I remember a day in Pasadena where I cleared my schedule and sat at my desk to write a picture book. Time get to work! I was still working a ‘real’ job and I tried to bring that sensibility to this job.

I mean, everyday I got up, drove to work, sat at my desk, had meetings worked on projects. It’s just a matter of writing a book instead of designing an online game or reviewing animated scripts…right?

I didn’t write a book that day or on many other days. What I found is that writing a book means you are always working on a book. It rarely just starts one day because I want it to and never finishes when I expect it to. While you DO have to do your writing every day, whether or not a flicker of  good book appears seems unfortunately random.

I find my inspiration is small things, odd little realizations. Truths that make me uncomfortable and ideas and characters that make me laugh. I do not find inspiration by telling myself to write a book when I sit down.

Now I tell myself, “I will sit down today and NOT write a book.” And if some tidbit of an idea develops that day, I am grateful.

“When I sit down to write a book, I do not say to myself, ‘I am going to produce a work of art.’ I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some fact to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.”
—George Orwell

Check out my new website: www.markfeaering.com!

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in kids books, picture books, writing fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m going to write a book today.

  1. Pingback: I’m going to write a book today. — Illustration – milibro2016blog

Leave a Reply

