Advice to Me when I was 9.

I’ve seen a lot of posts lately about the advice a person would give to their younger self.

I’v spent some time thinking about this, and more importantly wondering how I could deliver advice to my 9-year-old self. Would it be old me, traveling back in a time machine? Just standing there in my old-man pants and greying, unshaven face? Or would it be more like a ghostly version of me in a slightly altered space-time state flickering in transparency, because that would scare the hell out of 9-year-old Mark. But I put that discussion aside for my Time Travel Tuesday posts…

I guess I’d advise young Mark to get back in the bathroom and brush your teeth! Those fillings you get at 13 and 14 years old, well they turn into root canals and crowns in your 40’s and you could save enough to buy a new Tesla if you kept your teeth in better shape.

Other than that, I’m not sure I have any advice and that makes me sad.

I don’t have a great glass of wisdom to share apparently. Maybe because so little has really changed with me. I still have a million more interests than I have time for. Especially now as I get tired way faster than I used to. I like to draw and write and make short films and – I still sound like I am filling out my 4th grade list of things I LIKE TO DO.

I’m still a daydreamer and can spend my time happily doing tasks that seem rather pointless in the long run.

I suppose I would tell 9 year old Mark to focus and pay more attention to what you really want to do when you grow up. But I need that advice now too, so I don’t think it would help 9-year-old Mark.

Wait! I know. Buy Apple stock in 1995 (No make that 1997, their lowest stock price).

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in writing fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Advice to Me when I was 9.

  1. I don’t like those sort of “speak to child you” or “what would you change” introspective conversations either. Firstly they are far too therapy like (yuck!) and secondly I like to think I am where I am today because of all the experiences, big and small, good and bad, that shaped me and got me to this point which is just fine, thanks very much. When I did an art journal page on this very topic (https://pictinpa.wordpress.com/2015/08/27/life-is-full-of-possibilities/) I plumped for “Life is full of possibilities” as the only thing I wold tell my younger self because what else do you really need to know when you are wee?

    • mfearing says:

      I agree! I would never have guessed the how’s and where’s and why’s I’ve had in my life, but I can’t complain too much. And I hope young me doesn’t spend their time wondering about old me. Just have some fun!

Leave a Reply

