A short documentary about…

title

This is a short documentary about how my career in picture books came about. It was made by filmmaker John Hull.

John is working on a series on short docs on various creative pursuits that turn into careers. And I am the first one up.

It’s six minutes long, so you don’t have to worry about it getting bogged down in details. As some of you know, my career developed organically, that is to say I followed what interested me and was fortunate enough to find employment. Luck played the most important part in all this but with only 6 minutes I didn’t have time to bring those instances up.

I wanted John to get an actor to play me. But he said no. I wanted to wear a mask, he said no. I guess I should have shaved…

I find it difficult to enjoy my own voice. And of course this was shot without a script, so I listen to myself and as I build up to some big point – I lose clarity – and say something not quite right. Ouch!

Live, uncensored and out of control. The life of a picture book author and illustrator!

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in books, Cartoonists, illustration, writing fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A short documentary about…

  1. Kurt says:

    Very enjoyable video. I always like the stories of people’s early struggles and risk-taking to get where they want to go.

    • mfearing says:

      Thanks Kurt. It’s hard to listen to myself though. And the filmmaker cut this from 2 days of conversations and shots. So I feel like there’s so many important things missed. But in this day and age I guess I need to enjoy the opportunity. Still hard to listen to myself!

  2. Sandy Asher says:

    Loved this, Mark! I’ll second Kurt’s appraisal of your voice, and add that while YOU know what’s left out, there’s plenty of interest left in. Congratulations!

    • mfearing says:

      Thanks Sandy! It was an interesting experience and I was impressed with what the filmmaker pulled off. And it actually made my path look so much more streamlined than my actual career path!

  3. This is great! I understand what you are saying about leaving stuff out. Life doesn’t go in a straight line, but it’s obvious you’ve worked hard to make it in a tough business. Plus you are a great talent – one of my favourite children’s book illustrators. Congrats!

  4. Sharon Mann says:

    Very cool Mark, you deserve all the best.

  5. bighair63 says:

    a great little watch! Quite inspirational!

    • mfearing says:

      Thanks. When the film maker discussed doing this I honestly had no idea about how inspirational I could be. I tend to have a pretty dark humor POV about myself, but credit the filmmaker for finding an inspirational story amongst all my career turns and twists!

Leave a Reply

