Another Year of Freelancing

2015

It’s been a busy winter, a busy autumn, a busy summer…wait – A BUSY year!

Another year? Yikes. I remember when a year seemed like it took, well, a year.

Now they go by in about 2 months.

When you freelance your year is very different than when you are doing the ‘daily grind’. And at the end of the year you don’t have a boss to tell you you’ve ‘done good’, or not. I miss working closely with other creative people but I very much enjoy the ability to set my own schedule, though more often than not my schedule is pretty much every spare moment day or night, I’m in my office working.

As an artist you don’t usually have year-over-year revenue growth that means anything. Some years it goes down and some years it goes up. What you have is either a sense that you made progress or you didn’t.

Was your work better? Are you proud of the projects? Did you get to the projects you wanted to? And yes, this matters – did you actually make enough money to save some?

I spent more than 20 years working in full-time corporate/managerial/creative jobs. I’ve now spent almost 9 years freelancing. Oh my…that sounds frightening.

It’s been my most productive year project wise and I am very proud of some of them. I’m looking forward to the new books I have coming out and the new books I get to start on come January. I hope to deliver my final of three picture books completed this year by December 13th. That feels like an accomplishment.

And I’m looking forward to having a bit more time to write and develop the ideas I have started on scraps of paper or one-off sentences in my sketch book.

But before my office party I better finish this last book!

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in freelancing, picture books, writing fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Year of Freelancing

  1. Congratulations on a successful year! And thank you for letting your fans come along for the ride! Happy new year to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

