The first Apple Pencil drawings

I spent about an hour on the landscape drawing, maybe 40 minutes on the barbarian-cleaner.

I was trying a lot of different techniques that I use with ‘real’ pencil drawings and was able to recreate most of them. It’s still not as natural as an actual pencil on paper but there are advantages that you don’t get with the good-old-fashioned drawing tools. For instance, as with most digital drawing tools, you can easily change your drawing tool and you can ‘undo’ any lines you don’t like. How I have grown to love the undo while drawing. I have gotten so used to using the undo command that when I’m drawing with a real pencil and paper I have a splint second when I draw something I don’t like where I search for the Undo.

The Apple Pencil lets you build up solid black naturally and one its most famous attributes is how as you turn it to the side it reacts like an actual pencil and you get a soft edge gradient style mark. I was playing with that a lot.

These drawings were done in Adobe Sketch, an app for the iPad that specifically supports the Apple Pencil. I’m slowly working on some color pieces too, but I’ll need more time to get those in shape to share.

If you have any questions or have tried it yourself drop me a line. So far I can say it is equal to any Wacom I’ve ever used and perhaps a more natural sketching experience. But the apps for the iPad are more sketching apps, not finished day-in-day-out commercial art apps. And that’s how I want to use it to start, as a digital sketch book.

   
 

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Apple Computer, apple pencil, illustration, iPad pro and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The first Apple Pencil drawings

  1. Sharon Mann says:

    Thanks for the review Mark. I can’t wait to get mine. Your drawings are great.

  2. Dana Carey says:

    I do that command-Z thing in my head too. Weird feeling! Thanks for the progress report. The sketch looks good!

    • mfearing says:

      Thanks, but I’m not sure about that. I’m always seeing what I’d like to improve on.

      • I suppose that’s a good thing.

      • mfearing says:

        It can be a good thing. Working commercially I think one of the most difficult things to do is judge your strengths and weaknesses. I feel I have a decent idea of what I do well and what I don’t. With the stuff I don’t do well (color for instance) I have to work and study much harder to get it looking good. So that’s what I mean. Knowing what someone might hire me for and what I should be careful of taking on.

      • Yeah sure. I understand. I find it hard to critique myself. Funny it seems the pieces that I’m not happy with seem to be the ones that get the most attention. Ive read that artists usually find judging their own work difficult.

      • mfearing says:

        I agree. I think it’s the toughest thing to do in this career. And part of the issue is seeing how and what people react to in your work. As this became a full time career for me I’ve had to try and understand what people like – about what I like to do. That’s the issue. We can look at other artists and styles and know – people love so-and-so’s work, it sells a ton, he or she is always working – but I can’t just imitate that. What can I do that I enjoy, that’s important or resonates for me that people like? There are all kinds of projects I love that it seems no one else does! So I need to be able to be OK with that and still move on to something I love that other people will at least like!

  3. Really cool! I can’t wait until you explore color! 🙂

  4. dottorb says:

    Your drawings are really great, loving it. I’d advice Procreate as a art app, since it’s got a lot more tools. I’m deciding on buying those new hardware but unconvinced by apps, as you said. I mostly do cartoons and comic pages, I find it lacking a good reliable app for that. Procreate is good, but it bends toward a more sketchy or painting look. More “concept art” than a proper inking tool. So I may wait a little longer before buying it to see what comes out. Looking forward to see more experiments from you, and if you find it can be a full art pad for professional work. Thanks for sharing.

    • mfearing says:

      I did some work in Procreate and a bunch of other drawing apps. I like it for exactly that – rough sketching and ideas. I find for larger more complicated art pieces I have a lot of habits attached to how I work at home on my computer. I’m interested to see if I can change that habit and do more complicated and finished work with it. But I’m feeling most comfortable with it as a sketch tool.

Leave a Reply

