Before there was a graphic novel…

Before there was an entire graphic novel there was an idea. Earthling! is a graphic novel I co-created with Tim Runnel. It was around in my head in bits and pieces for many years.

I had characters but hand’t yet figured out the story when I painted this. This is an image from before the before – so to speak. I knew my two main characters would have a moment when they look off into space and realize the enormity of trying to find what planet Bud was from. A task so daunting it’s almost ridiculous. And would be impossible if not for some creative narrative!

How many stars in our galaxy?

About 200 billion.That’s something to think about.

bandg_e_e

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Blatherings, Earthling!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Before there was a graphic novel…

  1. bighair63 says:

    I love this. Can I ask, and sorry if it is mentioned elsewhere, but what medium is this? You mentioned ‘paint’…acrylic?

    • mfearing says:

      This was all painted digitally in Photoshop. I haven’t used good-old-real paints in about 15 years now other than to paint something for my daughter or create a texture that I scan.

Leave a Reply

