Gotta take the good with the bad…

stgte

Here’s an Amazon review (by Jason Servary) I really like. Of course I’m partial to GOOD reviews about my books, but I like what he says:

My 3 and a half year old loooves this book. It’s hard to find picture books that aren’t so wordy that they’re over his head, but still have enough content to engage him. This one is perfect. It keeps him giggling and he has asked us to read it every night this week.

His comment about ‘wordiness’ is nice to hear because there was a LOT more to this book before I worked with my editor (auditor!) on it. They were very wise in cutting away the extra material so this would became a very efficient story. And in general the wordier a picture books is – the less refined it is. So thank you for the nice review!

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in The Great Thanksgiving Escape and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gotta take the good with the bad…

  1. Robin Koontz says:

    Hey Mark, so how many words are in the book? I’m having the same struggle with a new project that is about 1100 words. They want them so short these days, argh!

    • mfearing says:

      Well I agree. It can be frustrating to get a manuscript down in size. I tend to overwrite, so the editing has usually been helpful. I lose some of my favorite lines, but I guess the book feels like a better fit for the demographic. I have noticed, in the past month, several picture books with longer word counts. And most of them actually felt long to me. I go read books once a week at a library or a Barnes & Noble just to see what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

