A new book, an old book and a book that never was…

I’m going to spend one day at Comic Con this year. One day should be enough. I haven’t been back to The Con for 2 or 3 years now. I don’t expect it to be any different but for being more crowded than I remember.

Dilly Dally Daisy comes out in a few weeks. It’s a picture book, and perfect for any family or kid that seems to find everything to do but what they are expected to do.

DillyDallyDaisy_cvrsmall

Kind of like blogging is for me during summer. It feels too much like homework when the sun is shining and the front yard needs work.

I just finished illustrating a new picture book. I’m guessing it’s done, but maybe there will be one or two small revisions yet. I’m very proud of it and I think it will find an abundant audience. It’s called Superhero Instruction Manual, written by Kristy Dempsey. And oddly enough it is not about Superheroes!

That’s not true. It IS about Superheroes. I won’t talk or write or show any art form it until it’s almost ready for sale. But it’s a funny and cute (in a good way) manuscript and I had great fun illustrating it.

I’m also in the middle of painting a LOT of chickens for another picture book. More at that as the feathers clear. Looking to send that off to the publisher by the end of August. Or I will try to do that – unless I’m dilly-dallying too much.

And it’s the time of year when I usually decide on a few manuscripts to submit to my agent. I’m afraid my middle grade novel will not make the cut. It’s not ready and I’ve run out of time this summer to work on it. I think it needs to stand a bit, age, ripen, cure…whatever it does when I’m not looking at the words on its pages.

But a few new picture books have bounced around enough and I think they may be read for my agent to take a look at. Or not…

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in writing fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A new book, an old book and a book that never was…

  1. It’s great fun for me that you agreed to illustrate Superhero Instruction Manual! Can’t wait!

    • mfearing says:

      Kristy! Thanks so much for stopping by this mildewy corner of the internets! I loved your manuscript (obviously) and hope you are pleased with the pages. Some of my new favorites are in this book!

  2. JB Young says:

    I was a dallier growing up and hope this book helps foster more dallying!

  3. Anne Awh says:

    Oh, the suspense!

    • mfearing says:

      No suspense at comic con. It’s generally too big and too busy, but fun. I may go back someday but I will NOT turn into the cranky oldster “I remember 20 years ago I could park in the convention center and there were only 8 people!” Well, I did a little of that…

Leave a Reply

