How did you become an illustrator

qanda

“I want to know how you became an illustrator?”

– Wyatt

I always enjoyed drawing. But I always felt like I wasn’t as good as other illustrators. And that’s tough for many young illustrators. We tend to have a bit of hero-worship in our constitutions. Because of this I had many other jobs that let me work creatively and in design, but I wasn’t drawing and writing full-time.

But I kept drawing, because I enjoy it. Even on my worse days I enjoy drawing and making up stories. I do it all the time. Even when I worked on gameshows or at advertising agencies I was drawing pictures and writing stories. So I suppose it’s no surprise that I do that full-time now.

So the best answer to the question of how I became an illustrator is that I just kept drawing. And the only way to get better at drawing, is to do another drawing.

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Blatherings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How did you become an illustrator

  1. That last sentence says it all: there aren’t any shortcuts. The person who embraces that early on has a great advantage.

Leave a Reply

