National Book Foundation – one of my favorite authors.

The National Book Awards were recently held and Ursula K. Le Guin was a 2014 Medalist for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. Below is a photo from the ceremony (more if you follow the link).

UKL_

Left is T.D. Le Guin, center Ursula and right Neil Gaiman who presented the award to Ursula.

The Photo is the work of Beowulf Sheehan and more of his work can be found following this link.

The book that ignited my interest in reading was Ursula K. Le Guin’s The Wizard of Earthsea. An epic high fantasy adventure that is also character focused and a wonderful coming of age tale. As I have said a thousand times, it is the boy wizard book I like best. And as I got older I sought out books by her which also grew my reading interests. Ms. Le Guin’s work cuts a large swath across genre including the science fiction classic The Lathe of Heaven.

Anyway, great to see her getting even more recognition.

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in Ursula K Le Guin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to National Book Foundation – one of my favorite authors.

  1. Anna Cull says:

    Thanks for the happy childhood memory — ‘The Wizard of Earthsea’ was/is one of my favourites too.

Leave a Reply

