The Thing with No Head for sale. Only on the iBookstore.

ttwnh_page1

My new ebook, The Thing with No Head, is posted to the iBookstore. It’s for sale as of today, October 20th. You know, just in time for some Halloween reading!

If you have an iOS device or a Mac with iBooks Installed you can download and read a sample (the first 6 pages). So download and take a look!

As I’ve mentioned before, making this book has been a good learning experience and illuminated some of my limitations as a book creator. I broke the experience into a film title.

THE GOOD

The book looks great on iPads and in iBooks on a Mac.

I love to crosshatch. Mission Accomplished.

I like stories with a bit more edge and that mix genres in ways that make it difficult for mainstream publishers to comfortably sell.

It’s was a great creative opportunity to try something that doesn’t fit easily into the expectations and genres in publishing and bookstores.

The ‘antique’ look of it is really a design decision that adds another dimension to reading it.

While you might think doing this allows you to make every creative decision, I still got a lot of feedback and editing from friends which helped a ton.

THE BAD

There is no easy way to get his ebook in front of any particular audience who might like it. By picking categories and keywords you limit exposure as powerfully as you position it.

It’s a bummer to not have a printed version of it to hold in my hands…I know, I’m an old fashioned book guy. I’m just saying…

Making my ebook allowed me to be the author/illustrator as well as salesman – and fill every roll in-between including marketing. Which isn’t a top skill of mine.

 THE UGLY

The process of creating an ebook is not craft and not art. It’s still a technical battle with odd bugs and format issues. If I didn’t have a 20 year span of my career when I worked in interactive design, online games and websites I would have been lost in how to get it working. The tools are getting better, but after doing this I have to say that the process doesn’t allow one to concentrate on the final product but forces you to tackle construction and architectural issues.

smaller_TTWNH_cvr

About mfearing

Illustrator.
This entry was posted in ebooks, The Thing with No Head and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Thing with No Head for sale. Only on the iBookstore.

  1. mfearing says:

    I added this into to the headline and it is also in the post, but the book is an ebook and only available on the Apple iBookstore. It is not a printed book and is not available on other publishing platforms at this time.

Leave a Reply

