A short Earthling! holiday play


Morning. A crowded city bus.

I sure wish I knew what to buy that special 8 year-old in my life for the Holidays.

I hear ya! I don’t know what to buy my nephew who is 9.

Fish Monger
Me neither. What can I possibly buy for my 10 year old niece this Christmas?

I couldn’t help overhearing your conversation. I have a 7 year old and an 11 year old to buy for and I have to get them 8 gifts for Hanukkah!

I’d like to buy them somethings more than a video game or just another toy.

Me to. Like a book.

Bus Driver
You could buy them a copy of Diary of a Wimpy Kid!

They already have it.

Bus Driver

Suddenly the bus begins to rock back-and-forth. People fall asunder. A glowing figure steps aboard. It’s hard to clearly see this mysterious figure amongst the bright lights and fog though they are wearing a gold lamé jumpsuit and stand at least 8 feet tall.

Mysterious Figure
You should buy them a copy of the graphic novel – Earthling!.

Fish Monger
You means that graphic novel about a school bus from outer space?

Mysterious Figure

But that’s all science-fictiony and stuff. I don’t know if kids like that.

Mysterious Figure
You mean the way kids don’t like Star Wars and Transformers and such? Not to say Earthling! is exactly like Star Wars or Transformers but they share a genre…

I am researching it using my iPhone and gosh, the reviews sound great! Except for this one, man they really had it out for the guy. Anyway, that’s a great idea! I’ll order one right now from my iPhone!

It’s the perfect gift!

Fish Monger
Well that and a few pounds of fish!

All laugh. Fish monger has a coughing fit.

Bus Driver
(To mysterious stranger) Thanks for the book buying advice but you got a ticket?

Mysterious Stranger
I don’t know. Do you?

Curtain closes.

About mfearing

This entry was posted in Chronicle Books, comic books, Earthling!, graphic novels, illustration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A short Earthling! holiday play

  1. Bob's Your Uncle says:

    I cried, I wept, I nearly had an aneurism. Why was his suit lame? Because it was a jumpsuit.

  2. ken says:

    this play is all rather unbelievable because the fish monger’s accent is all wrong.

    • mfearing says:

      My tin ear is to blame.

      Really, I have tin ears. Used to be platinum but I exchanged them and pocketed the difference.

      I just really think its a shame we don’t have more fish mongers in books these days. I guess the golden age of fish mongering is past.

  3. wendymyersart says:

    Why were those mongers ever in books anyway? Were dealers of fish considered cult heroes back then or something? Har.

  4. mfearing says:

    They certainly played a bigger role back then before malls and shopping online and playing video games…and fish sticks.

  5. anne dawson says:

    Positive feedback- the one person who might read your play and order your book for her nephew who she was on the fence about which book to get is me! Also, I’m finding your blog is a good sanity check- to begin or end the day with depending on my emotional state. ‘If Mark’s not crazy maybe I’m not either!’ Hope that’s not too much pressure.

  6. mfearing says:

    Well, I certainly know the playwright had a definite goal in his writing. I usually don’t like plays that preach so much, but I thought this one was filled with excitement and verve. I hope it ends up on Broadway. It just needs more songs. I sometimes wonder if perhaps this blog doesn’t betray my mental states a little too well! Now I know it does! Thanks for reading. I’m trying to figure out what to do in the new year with this blog. Something new and exciting.

Leave a Reply

